George Spurway

George Spurway

Current Location:
chard, Somerset

My Profile

Born in a small village in East Devon in the early fourties, I worked most of my life as a HGV driver and in later years I ran my own small repair business. I spent a number of years racing a sidecar outfit at grass-tracks around the South West of England. I then went on to fly a microlight aircraft until ill health forced me to give it up. My hobbies are now wood carving, camper vaning and anything interesting. A year before retirement I became very ill with Rheumatoid Arthritis and was in a wheelchair for almost a year. However not being one to give up my doctor sent me to see a different specialist where I was given some brilliant treatment and, with a lot of determination, I gradually improved. I find walking is one of the best treatments to try and keep active. I do get bad times when I get flare-ups, because then its back to square one for a while. I've done quite a bit of charity work for different charities with my microlight, and have arranged some very sucessfull events in a local village hall in aid of the Childrens Hospice South West. I joined the Cinnamon Trust as a volunteer about a couple of years ago when I was looking for a dog of my own, therefore I occasionally walk the dogs of a disabled gentleman who comes from Chard.

Complain about this page

My Favourite Charities

Total money raised so far: £120.00

£

My Friends

Become the first Charity Choice friend of George.

Request to be my friend